I know because I remember

I know, you wanted to play,
I know, you had the desire;
But why you are standing there?
waiting for the game to get over;

I know, you wanted to live;
I know, you had the fire;
But why you are standing alone?
waiting for the life to get over!

I know, you think of someone,
when these rain drops tingle your body;
but why you are standing beneath the shed?
waiting for the rain to get over!

I know, you loved the spring,
flower blossoming in the may;
but why you are sitting in the autumn’s bough?
waiting for the season not to get over!

I know, because I remember,
you love to fly that high;
to every inch of the sky;
but why you are falling down hopelessly?
waiting for your wings being cut over;

I know, you love sitting in sunshine,
I know, you love your summer days;
but, then, why you are standing in the shade?
waiting for the day to get over!

You were the puppeteer’s favorite,
put aside for sometime,
you were crucial for play;
you were part of the stage;
but why you are not willing to perform?
waiting for your role to get over!
-Sandeep Chopra

I had the idea for the poem for quite sometime, and finally I thought I would write it down.

puppeteer’s is being herereferred to god!

Leave a Reply

